Many regular people and even BJJ fighters are confused by IBJJF weight classes. There are differences
between gi and no-gi competitions. Divisions are different for juveniles, adults, masters, males, and
But have no fear, read our post thoroughly you’ll figure everything out.

Weight classes approved by IBJJF Federation until 2021

The IBJJF weight classes you’ll see below are approved by IBJJF Federation for 2019-2021 and might be
subject to change after 2021. So here’s how everything looks like.


Photos are retaken from

But let’s clarify something before we kick-off. The minimum age for a juvenile is 16, while adults are
considered everybody 18+. There are six sub-age divisions for masters, and the minimum age is 30
years, but everybody can take part in Adults’ weight class if he is 18 years old or older.


Nine weight classes are available for masters and adults:
● Rooster weight – under 57.5 kg or 126.5 lbs;
● Light featherweight – above 57.5 kg and under 64 kg or 141 lbs;
● Featherweight – above 64kg and under 70 kg or 154 lbs;

● Lightweight–above 70kg and under 76.5kg or 168 lbs;
● Middleweight – above 76.5kg and under 82.3 kg or 181 lbs;
● Medium heavyweight – above 82.3 kg and under 88.3 kg or 194.5 lbs;
● Heavyweight – above 88.3 kg and under 94.3 kg or 207.5 lbs;
● Super heavyweight – under 100.5 kg or 221 lbs;
● Ultra heavyweight – above 100.5 kg, no upper limit;
● Open class–any fighter who is middleweight or up has the right to compete.


Six IBJJF weight classes are available for women at the official tournaments:
● Light featherweight – under 53.5 kg or 118 lbs.;
● Featherweight – above 53.5 and under 58.5 kg or 129 lbs;
● Lightweight – 58.5 kg to 64 kg or 141 lbs;
● Middleweight – 69 kg or 152 lbs;
● Medium heavyweight – 74 kg or 163 lbs;
● Heavyweight – anything above 74 kg or 163 lbs.
● Anybody can take part in an open class division.


Juvenile Boys IBJJF Weight Classes

Nine IBJJF weight classes exist, just like for adults and masters. Here they are:
● Rooster class – under 53.5 kg or 118 lbs;
● Light featherweight class – above 53.5 and under 58 kg or 129 lbs;
● Featherweight – above 58kg and under 64 kg or 141 lbs;
● Lightweight – above 64kg and under 69kg or 152.5 lbs;
● Middleweight – above 69kg and under 74 kg or 163.5 lbs;
● Medium heavyweight – above 74 kg and under 79.3 kg or 174.5 lbs;
● Heavyweight – above 79.3 kg and under 84.3 kg or 185.5 lbs;
● Super heavyweight – above 84.3 kg under 89.5 kg or 196 lbs;
● Ultra heavyweight–above 89.5 kg or 196 lbs.
Any athlete is allowed to take part in an open class division.

Juvenile Girls IBJJF Weight Classes

The same six weight classes exist just like for adults and masters. Yet, weight limits are different:
● Light featherweight – under 48.3 kg or 106.5 lbs;
● Featherweight–48.3kg to 52.5 kg or 116 lbs;
● Lightweight–52.5kg to 56.5 kg or 125 lbs;
● Middleweight–56.5kg to 60.5 kg or 133.5 lbs;
● Medium heavyweight–60.5kg to 65 kg or 144 lbs;
● Heavyweight class–anybody above 65 kg or 144 lbs.

Anybody can take part in an open weight division.

Weighing In Before A Tournament

There is a difference between a gi and no-gi tournament. It’s described below.


The gi competition means you must weigh in wearing gi, and your total weight counts. You are not
allowed to take the gi off.
If you miss the scale, you cannot participate in the tournament. One-shot, there is no second chance, so
do not fail. Division change is prohibited too.


If you take part in a no-gi tournament, you will not wear gi at the weigh-in.

IBJJF Weight Classes–Summary

We hope there will be no dilemma the next time you participate in the IBJJF tournament. You know IBJJF
classes now, so cruising a few pounds north or south will be an easy decision to make. And please, be
cautious, gi and no-gi competitions have different weigh-in rules.